Is it Okay Not to Know Everything?

Progressive 24

I will lead the blind by ways they have not known, along unfamiliar paths I will guide them; I will turn the darkness into light before them and make the rough places smooth. These are the things I will do; I will not forsake them. Isaiah 42:16

Isn’t this beautiful? I feel such joy when I read this.

But so much of religion is about judgment and hell, who will be judged and for what and why, what a word means in Greek, which translation is the only “accurate” translation, or how exactly did Christ’s death save us. When I listen to the arguments, sometimes I get tired of it and I want to quit.

I’m told that it’s important, not just to believe, but to believe right. (And that seems to involve believing what pundits say on the television. Really? Since when did a news station become part of the Christian canon?) By trying to explain God, to tell other people exactly what and how to believe, aren’t we setting ourselves up as gods?

I read the Bible every day, but I still have lots of questions, mostly “why” questions: Why did my friend die of cancer? Why are there good atheists? Why did God allow me to be abused as a child, before I could form an image of a loving father? I’ve heard a few answers, such as “God doesn’t want us to be puppets,” but they don’t exactly fit the questions.

Before Jesus washed Peter’s feet, he said, You do not realize now what I am doing, but later you will understand.” (John 13:7) So, like Peter, I figure I’ll just accept Jesus’ lessons as he shows me, and I’ll try to do what He asks me to do. He will turn the darkness into light just before my feet. Enough for me to walk forward, step by step, but not enough to see everything at once. It would probably be too much for me to understand anyway.

When I do–when I simply trust God–I glimpse the wild and wonderful beauty of His creation. I realize that He is far bigger, and far more complicated, than I can imagine. He’s also more intimate and more loving than I can conceive. I just have to accept it. When I do, He turns the darkness into light and makes the rough places smooth and I follow after Him… and that’s enough.

2 thoughts on “Is it Okay Not to Know Everything?

Leave a Reply

