Who Does God Want to Save?

Progressive 21I urge, then, first of all, that petitions, prayers, intercession and thanksgiving be made for all people—for kings and all those in authority, that we may live peaceful and quiet lives in all godliness and holiness. This is good, and pleases God our Savior, who wants all people to be saved and to come to a knowledge of the truth. For there is one God and one mediator between God and mankind, the man Christ Jesus, who gave himself as a ransom for all people. 1 Timothy 2:1-6

There was a time when I was really messed up.

I’ve been a Christian forever it seems–I grew up going to Sunday school–but religion didn’t insulate me from the world’s problems. When I went down, I went down hard. (I’ll spare you the details, but it involved a lot of alcohol.) I haven’t forgotten it, and I haven’t forgotten what it felt like: lost, lonely, rudderless. I stopped going to church after sitting, week after week, next to people who appeared to be happy. Why? Because I thought I wasn’t “good enough.” Instead I turned to twelve step groups, support groups, and counseling. I found God in rag-tag groups of broken people who clung together for sanity. Now I know that I was always good enough for God, even if I wasn’t good enough for some Christians.

I think many Christians have divided the world into two camps: Christians, and those who will never be Christians. And they’ve constricted the definition of Christian to “those who believe exactly the same things I do.”

Some people love the passage about the narrow gate (“Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it.” Matthew 7:13) even as they ignore the first line of the same chapter (Do not judge… Matthew 7:1) and the verses leading up to it.

It’s up to each person if they want to walk through the narrow gate. But let’s not push people off the road. Let’s invite them on, even if they seem beyond hope to our myopic vision. God knows their hearts and, for all we know, He might have great plans for them.

Every Christian has a before: a time when they weren’t Christians, or they weren’t walking with God, or they just didn’t understand. Every person has hope.

Will God save everyone? I don’t know. But I won’t stop Him if He tries.

5 thoughts on “Who Does God Want to Save?

  1. emspears

    Yes indeed, God loves everyone and wants to save everyone! Who will be saved? I take God at His Word and He can’t possibly lie (and the devil can’t possibly tell the truth) and, according to His Word—as inspired through His servant, the Apostle Paul, God tells us “That if thou confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, you shalt be saved”. Romans 10:9 KJV
    That’s it!
    Since Jesus Christ shed His blood which cleanses us continuously and so we are now in the age of grace (not works or “under the law” anymore)

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply
  2. emspears

    Reblogged this on ericspearsblog and commented:
    God loves everyone (all of His human creation which is every single person in the world that has ever been or ever will be born) and wants to save everyone! The greatest news ever: Jesus paid the price for the forgiveness of our sins and so we don’t have to suffer the punishment if we confess our sins and accept God’s gift of salvation from our sins through this sacrifice of His Son, Jesus! So, my friends, believe on the Lord Jesus Christ trusting Him for eternal life and you can rest assured that you are saved.

    Remember, God is omniscient and omnipotent and so His wisdom and purpose is infinitely greater than what can possibly be conceived in our human finite minds so just because something doesn’t seem logical to us doesn’t mean its not true! Indeed, the magnitude and power of God’s love, grace, and mercy definitely, absolutely does not make sense to us and it’s not supposed to. So, we must accept that sometimes things don’t make sense to us and so we must have faith in God and His Word and that’s what He wants. No matter who you are or what you’ve done, God loves you and wants to welcome you into His family! God’s love is amazing grace!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

