Who Am I Supposed to Hate?

Progressive 13“But mark this: There will be terrible times in the last days. People will be lovers of themselves, lovers of money, boastful, proud, abusive, disobedient to their parents, ungrateful, unholy, without love, unforgiving, slanderous, without self-control, brutal, not lovers of the good, treacherous, rash, conceited, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God— having a form of godliness but denying its power. Have nothing to do with such people.” 2 Timothy 3:1-5

Boy, I see a lot of finger-pointing. If you watch the news, you know there’s a fundamentalist watchlist: the people to avoid seem to be gays, Muslims, scientists, liberals, and poor people. (I’m sure I missed some. Gun haters? Tree huggers?) Liberals, on the other hand, mostly single out Fundamentalists and Creationists (as well as pro-birthers and climate deniers–notice how the language reflects an opinion). But neither of these exactly fit the list above. (And too few people examine their own selves when looking at this kind of verse.)

So, who should I avoid? I read the Bible, and I pray, and I listen to the Holy Spirit. And I keep my distance from people described in the passage above, even if they’re good “believers.” My friends and mentors are kind, honest people, even those who don’t see eye-to-eye with me politically.

As for the finger-pointers? They seem to be overrepresented in these verses. I’m not hanging around with the finger-pointers.

16 thoughts on “Who Am I Supposed to Hate?

  1. Anne Truxillo

    You forgot something very important that you edited out of 2 Timothy 3 and that is without natural affection. Umm I wonder why? Perhaps because you know that is talking about the homosexual. You count on them to not read the bible. I find this very sad that you pick and choose what you will say instead of what God says.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jennifer

      Conservatives are just as guilty of it so you know I think that’s what we all do. We “interpret” the Bible, some to their own ends and others trying not to but their own filters are still used when they read it.

      Like

      Reply
    2. One Candle Post author

      Ah, I see it, Anne. I didn’t edit it out. My bible (NIV) says “without love.” I don’t want to get in a pointless standoff over who’s picking and choosing. But if the phrase “without natural affection,” (KJV) lifted out of the larger context, is used to condemn only homosexuals, I still see it as finger-pointing.
      (I will read more about it and pray.)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    3. moonflag

      Ah, the King James version! And now we learn how some interpret “natural affection” while other versions use “love”. “Natural affection” can be interpreted a million ways…just saying.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Alethea Eason

    Reblogged this on The Heron's Path and commented:
    Amen!
    I am trying to find within myself a less judging place of myself and those who I see as fundamentalist. To find the place where God’s love transcends our different paradigms. I’m writing a sermon about the grain of mustard seed…which actually was an invasive plant in the time of Jesus. But the point being,that God’s love can be viral and all encompassing. God love us ALL.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. One Candle Post author

      I look forward to reading it, Alethea. I absolutely believe God’s all-encompassing love transcends our paradigms. But we have to lay down our weapons before we understand.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Michael Moore

    This both touched my heart and reminded me in a loving way to watch my own judging… I have often said in sermons and writings that I don’t like it when those who are so Pharisaic turn me into the very same judgmental thing in reaction to them…

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

